September 1, 2020

ACLU of Southern California Honors Firm with A.L. Wirin Pro Bono Award

The ACLU of Southern California honored Munger, Tolles & Olson with its inaugural 2020 A.L. Wirin Pro Bono Award announced on Sept. 1, 2020 recognizing the firm’s unstinting work as a pro bono partner to the ACLU of Southern California. 

In particular, the ACLU noted that despite an atypical year of unprecedented challenges, Munger Tolles went far beyond what the institution could have expected, aiding the organization in many ways.

Additionally, the ACLU individually honored a number of attorneys. Sara McDermott, Estalyn Marquis, Trevor Templeton, David Moreshead, Ariel Teshuva, Bill Temko, Mindy LeMoine and Jake Kreilkamp were honored with the Southern California ACLU’s Humanitarian Award for their work on the COVID-19 writs at the California Supreme Court. 

The ACLU will also honor John Schwab, Anne Conley, Peter Gratzinger and Jake Kreilkamp with the SoCal ACLU’s Criminal Justice Award, for their work on the P.E.O.P.L.E. v. Rackauckas case, challenging the constitutionality of the Orange County DA and Sheriff’s jail informant policies.

Read more about these honors in the September edition of LA Lawyer Magazine (page 19).