New LAFLA HQ Named in Honor of Ron Olson

Munger, Tolles & Olson name partner Ronald L. Olson was honored for his long history of public service by the Legal Aid Foundation of Los Angeles (LAFLA), which broke ground on Jan. 19, 2016 on its new headquarters, named the Ron Olson Justice Center.

Mr. Olson has made community involvement a cornerstone of the firm’s culture. Mr. Olson has championed numerous pro bono matters during his five-decade legal career, including most recently securing an historic settlement on behalf of homeless veterans in Los Angeles. He has played an active role in many civic organizations, including serving as LAFLA board president from 1984-1985, and was honored by the organization in 1992 with its Maynard Toll Award for Distinguished Public Service.

“It is a high privilege to be associated with this institution and its mission,” Mr. Olson said at the groundbreaking ceremony, which featured local dignitaries including Mayor Eric Garcetti and Los Angeles City Councilmember Gil Cedillo.

Munger, Tolles & Olson lawyers Brad D. Brian and Glenn D. Pomerantz co-chaired “Building Justice,” a capital campaign that has raised more than $12 million as of April 2016 to erect the new building. Many members of the legal and business community made significant contributions to the campaign, including Munger, Tolles & Olson, which pledged $1 million.

The new headquarters – slated for completion in spring 2017 – will be home to Los Angeles’s frontline law firm for low-income residents. Annually, it serves approximately 80,000 individuals facing a range of issues. LAFLA provides eviction defense to indigent families who face losing their homes, represents survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault in various issues, advocates for veterans to obtain life-sustaining benefits, and fights wage theft and wrongful termination practices, among many other services.

Munger, Tolles & Olson is a longtime supporter of LAFLA. In addition to Mr. Olson, Mr. Brian, Mr. Pomerantz and Bradley S. Phillips have served as board presidents.